Announcing the "If you liked . . ." series

Hey other writer/bloggers. . .

I recently read an article suggesting writers could “control” the “people who bought this also bought” results on Amazon by encouraging your readers to purchase books you wished to be associated with. With that in mind, I often do link other writers' books on my facebook page and have tried to target a little bit with ones that I think would make good “crossovers” (their readers could be my readers and vice versa).
This week, however, another author tagged me in a giveaway she was doing of MY book. I clicked around her page and saw that she does this every week, giving away a copy of a bargain book within her genre, and my mind started churning a bit and I came up with the idea for a series of blog posts.

If you liked . . . then you will like . . .

The idea is to take one of my books and pair it with another author's book in a post explaining why readers of one would like the other. Ideally I'd partner with that author, they'd run a similar post on their blog/pages and we could do a giveaway together for one of our ebooks.

This would expose that writer's readers to my book and my readers to the other author's book.
I'm putting together a blog post pairing my middle grade fantasy with another author's middle grade scifi, complete with giveaway, and a cool graphic, but I'd like to see if we can make this a “thing.”

Are you a writer/blogger who would like to participate? Here's how. . .

We could use the hashtag #ifyouliked to link posts. Participants would be in charge of finding their own partners. I recommend getting a book as close to your own in genre, style, and content as possible to make the most of it. The giveaway will be optional. All that would be required is for the post you do to feature your book and another author's book with a post (short as you want) explaining why your readers would like that book. If you can't find a good partner, you can do the same pairing your book up with a traditionally published book you find compatible. (I'm not big on rules. If my idea doesn't work for you, tweak it and play along anyway).

I'm running my first #ifyouliked posts on April 8th and plan to do another one every two weeks for the foreseeable future.

Let me know if you want to play along.

Comments

  1. I really like this idea. I'll be sure to check out your post in a few days. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. awesome! Yeah, I'm hoping to have fun with it and I'd like it to spread. We'll see how it goes.

      Delete

Post a Comment